

Wisconsin Rapids Board of Education

510 Peach Street · Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54494 · (715) 424-6701

April 23, 2018

John A. Krings, President John Benbow, Jr. Sandra K. Hett Larry Davis Anne Lee Katie Medina Mary E. Rayome

SPECIAL BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING

Reorganization Meeting

LOCATION: Thomas A. Lenk Educational Center, 510 Peach Street, Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54494

TIME: 5:30 p.m.

PRESENT: Anne Lee, Mary Rayome, Sandra Hett, John Krings, Katie Medina, John Benbow, Larry Davis

ADMINISTRATION PRESENT: Craig Broeren, Daniel Weigand, Ryan Christianson, Ronald Rasmussen

President John Krings called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

Roll Call

Prior to the reorganization meeting, the Oath of Office was administered by the Board Secretary to recently elected Board members John Benbow, Larry Davis, and Katie Bielski-Medina.

Motion by John Benbow, seconded by Sandra Hett that Craig Broeren, Superintendent, be appointed temporary chairman of the Board of Education meeting. Motion carried unanimously.

Sandra Hett nominated John Krings for the office of President of the Board of Education. John Krings nominated John Benbow for the office of President of the Board of Education.

There were no other nominations.

Motion by John Benbow, seconded by Larry Davis to close nominations for the office of President. Motion carried unanimously.

Through the use of written ballots, there were 6 ballots cast for John Krings, and 1 ballot cast for John Benbow. Superintendent Broeren announced that John Krings was elected to the office of President of the Board of Education. At this point, John Krings presided over the organizational meeting.

John Krings nominated Mary Rayome for the office of Vice President of the Board of Education. Katie Medina nominated Sandra Hett for the office of Vice President of the Board of Education. Ms. Hett declined the nomination, withdrawing her name from the ballot for the office of Vice President. Katie Medina accepted the withdrawal.

There were no other nominations.

Motion by Larry Davis, seconded by Katie Medina that nominations for Vice President of the Board of Education be closed, and a unanimous ballot be cast for Mary Rayome as Vice President. Motion carried unanimously.

Katie Medina nominated Larry Davis for the office of Clerk of the Board of Education. There were no other nominations.

Motion by Katie Medina, seconded by Anne Lee that nominations for Clerk of the Board of Education be closed, and a unanimous ballot be cast for Larry Davis as Clerk. Motion carried unanimously.

Sandra Hett nominated Katie Medina for the office of Treasurer of the Board of Education. There were no other nominations.

Motion by Anne Lee, seconded by Larry Davis that nominations for Treasurer of the Board of Education be closed, and a unanimous ballot be cast for Katie Medina as Treasurer. Motion carried unanimously.

John Benbow nominated Maurine Hodgson to be elected as Secretary of the Board of Education. There were no other nominations.

Motion by Anne Lee, seconded by Larry Davis that nominations for Secretary be closed, and a unanimous ballot be cast for Maurine Hodgson as Secretary. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Mary Rayome, seconded by John Benbow that the Board of Education continue to operate under the current operational policies, regulations, and by-laws as set forth by the Board of Education. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Mary Rayome, seconded by Larry Davis that the Board of Education approve the use of the Facsimile Signatures for use in signing School District checks or orders. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Katie Medina, seconded by Larry Davis that the Board of Education approve the Resolution Designating Public Depositories and Authorizing Withdrawal of School District monies. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by John Benbow, seconded by Larry Davis that the Board of Education authorize the administration to use the present Facsimile signature plate for School District checks appropriately drawn. Motion carried unanimously.

President John Krings recommended the following Board Committee appointments:

- 1. John Benbow, Jr. as Chair of the Business Services Committee, with Larry Davis and Katie Medina serving as members.
- Sandra Hett as Chair of the Personnel Services Committee, with Mary Rayome and Anne Lee serving as members.
- 3. Anne Lee as Chair of the Educational Services Committee, with all seven Board members serving on this committee.

President John Krings recommended the following other appointments:

- 1. Anne Lee as the delegate for the CESA 5 annual meeting.
- 2. John Benbow as the WASB Delegate for the WASB Convention in Milwaukee in January 2019, with Larry Davis appointed as the Alternate Delegate.
- 3. John Benbow as the WASB Legislative Representative.
- 4. Anne Lee as the Council for Instructional Improvement representative.
- 5. John Benbow as the Trade/Construction Class Project Committee representative.
- 6. Sandra Hett, John Krings, and Mary Rayome as the WRPS/WREA Wage Negotiation Committee representatives.
- Katie Medina as the Student/District Wellness Committee representative. Larry Davis expressed an
 interest in also attending the meetings as an observer only, which President Krings acknowledged would be
 fine.
- 8. John Krings as the Insurance Committee representative.

Motion by Larry Davis, seconded by Katie Medina to approve the recommended appointments. Motion carried unanimously.

President Krings stated that Committee meeting times would remain the same as the prior year as follows:

Committee Meeting Times:

- 1. Personnel Services Committee at 6:00 p.m.
- 2. Business Services Committee at 6:00 p.m.
- 3. Educational Services Committee immediately following, but not before 6:15 p.m.

President Krings stated that the seating arrangement will remain as in the prior year: Vice President Mary Rayome seated on the President's right, followed by Anne Lee, Sandra Hett, and the Student Representative. The Superintendent will sit on the President's left, followed by John Benbow, Larry Davis, and Katie Medina.

Superintendent Broeren explained that each Board member is entitled to a District e-mail account, and reminded Board members to be aware of e-mail use in relation to the public records law, walking quorums, and Board policy.

Under "New Business," the Board gave some consideration to Board Policy 882 – Family/Church Night. Supt. Broeren explained that in light of many postponed and rescheduled spring sports activities due to weather, he wanted Board input and feedback concerning their expectation on the avoidance of scheduling Wednesday activities as outlined in the policy. The Board collectively expressed an interest in avoiding evening activities as outlined in policy; however, would understand that some latitude in extraordinary circumstances may warrant an activity to be scheduled. The Board does not want any students to experience repercussions or penalties should they choose to attend a church activity over a scheduled school function. Mr. Broeren explained that he believes this year is highly unusual in terms of rescheduled events, and appreciates knowing the Board's sentiment and position concerning the policy.

John Krings adjourned the meeting at 5:50 p.m.

John Krings - President

John a. Ming

Larry Davis - Clerk

Maurine Hodgson - Secretary